-
On 05 August 2017 at 21:08 | updated on 21 August 2017 at 20:01

Interview with Mona Sing, inline alpine slalom skater (Germany)

Interview with Mona Sing, inline alpine slalom skater (Germany)

"Life is my favorite sport". This sentence could summarize the involvment of Mona Sing in her practices. Interview with the German inline alpine slalom skater...

By  Alexandre CHARTIER

Interview

Mona Sing

Hello Mona, Can you introduce yourself?

I'm 26 years old. I was born on the 19th June, 1991 in Germany in a city called Schorndorf which is close to Stuttgart. I studied to become a teacher and my subjects are Sports, Visual Arts and German Language Studies. Now I'm a teacher in probation. Next year I'm going to make my second state examination.

How did you start skating?

I began to ski when I was three years old. When I was older I participated in some ski competitions. That' s why I started to do Inline Alpine in the summer time to stay in training and prepare for the winter season. Since I was a child I have been interested in Inline-Skating and did it just for fun back then. That is how it started. When I was six years old I skated for the first time. As I got older I started to go to funparks in my free time. At the age of 12 I started with the Inline Alpine sport and in 2003 I did my first competition.

Mona Sing

Why did you choose inline alpine?

It's a good opportunity to stay in shape and practise for the skiing season. But more than that I have a lot of fun in this sport. Also, it's a great sport to improve your balance but mostly I love the fascination of speed. This sport gives me an amazing chance to feel a controlled speed with strengths in a curve. It's always a challenge.

Mona Sing

Did you try other practices?

I like the slogan "Life is my favorite sport". I love to be active and do a lot of sports in my free time. In wintertime, I ski a lot and also do cross-country skiing. I'm an instructor for skiing and snowboarding. Before I focussed that much on Inline Alpine I did judo until I was 16. Besides Inline Alpine I go Jogging, practise slackline, do some mountain biking and play some Tennis.

Mona Sing

How did you get in touch with Powerslide?

2014 after some good results I asked Micha Merz from the Powerslide Inline Alpine Team if there is a possibilty to join the Team. He established the contact so that I could apply officially by Dr. Wolfgang Schrader for the Powerslide Inline Alpine Team.
Since the season 2017 two former team mates left the team and also Wolfgang Schrader gave up the Team-Management of the Powerslide Alpine-Team for reasons of age. In order that the team would continue to exist I assumed responsibility for the organisation and management of the Powerslide Inline Alpine Team. I suggested two new team mates Noah Sing and Miks Zvejnieks because both already drove with the material of the Powerslide Team and they had a great season in 2016 with nice duels.

Tell us a few words about your skates...

Mona SingI tried different skates to find out which one is the best for me and the sports of Inline Alpine Skating. For a long time I drove with another model till I switched to Powerslide. Since then I prefer the C8 skates with 110 mm frames. I'm very satisfied with this skate because it feels the best, is hard enough to give a good transfer of the strengths while I'm driving and this model fits close to the foot and that is important too. I'm also driving the Grand Prix model of Powerslide and I'm satisfied with this one too. I'm happy about the narrow contact to Jürgen Pfitzner so that we could find out which is the best for Inline Alpine and how we can develop the boots. 

What are your goals for the 2017 World Roller Games?

First of all, I would like to enjoy the feeling of the big event and get a great support of the fans. Also I would like to collect some impressions of the country and people of China. I want to be relaxed, have good time. That's why it is easier to achieve something if you take it easy. My goals for the Roller Games are the podium in every category (slalom, parallel slalom and giant slalom).

What are your project for the future?

I'm a teacher in probation and my main goal for the future is to finish my education in this job and get my second state examination. Besides this I would like to support this amazing sport with my engagement as a trainer and share my experiences of the competitions and my knowledge of the technical points of this sport. Also I'm on a good level as an athlete so I still would like to stay in the racing operation and keep fighting with the speed in the next season.

Free speech: if you wish to add something

I want to give a thank you for my parents. My parents are supporting me very much. My brother is also a pro in Inline Alpine and without our parents we both couldn't practice like we do. I'm very thankful for that support. Inline Alpine competitions became a family event and we enjoy the time we spend together with friends. I'm also very happy that I can train together with my brother. It's more fun with him. I'm looking forward to getting him more and more successful. We both won 2016 the German Championships in Parallel Slalom.

Mona Sing

Facts sheet

Mona SingName: Mona Sing
Given name: Mona Sing
Date of birth: 19.06.1991
Birthplace: Schorndorf (Germany)
Size: 163 cm
Weight: 59 kg
Country: Germany
Residence: Winnenden near Stuttgart
First steps on skates: with 6 years
Category: Inline Alpine
Studies: I studied to become a teacher. I'm now a teacher in probation
Strength: Hard-working, strong will
Weakness: Lazy, sweeties – love chocolate
Other sports: Skiing, snowboarding, surfing, tennis
Last movie seen: JOY
Favourite music: I like a mixture of everything. At the moment I hear a lot of bunt. (folk house)
Video games: There is no time for gaming and I care less about video games.
Books: in general I like historical or fantasy novels
I like: freetime in the nature, have an open mind, honesty
I don't like: be very hungry and waiting too long for the meal
Quality: premium quality
Flaw: tendency to perfectionism, impatient
Club/ team: SV Winnenden
Languages: German, English, French
Alcohol or fruit juice? Both sometimes
Beach or mountains? Hard choice – both. Beach for surfing, the mountains for skiing and hiking.
Morning or evening? morning
Cheese or dessert? Dessert
Rap, metal or techno? Rap
Football or rugby? Rugby

Achievements

  • I won several times the German Championships in Nordic-Blading, Slalom and Parallel Slalom.
  • In 2013, I won the European Championships in giant slalom.
  • In 2014, I became vice world champion in Slalom and Parallel Slalom. 
  • In 2016, I won the Giant Slalom World Championship in Spain.

Links

Released  on 05 August 2017 - Read 1868 times

By :
Fondateur et webmaster de rollerenligne.com. Alexandre est un passionné de roller en général et sous tous ses aspects : histoire, économie, sociologie, évolution technologique... Ne le branchez pas sur ces sujets sans avoir une aspirine à portée de main !

Web site Google+ Facebook Twitter


Want to join? Email us!

Adv.